top of page

No hot hot pepper here!

What I found different in diet between Finland and China, more specifically, my hometown, is that I could not find hot pepper here. And most of Finnish guys does not like eating chili because they rarely eat it and it is too spicy for them. However, the fact is, the food that is spicy for them is not spicy for me, not at all because my hometown is well-known its piquancy.

Geographically, my hometown is surrounded lakes so it is wet annually. My ancestors found that the pepper is good for prevention of rheumatism, a sickness that the people who live in wet environment could easily have. So pepper gradually become a common dish on the tables in my hometown. However Finland is much drier and colder, thus agriculture has been limited from many angels. Most of vegetables are imported from other countries. I hardly see spicy food here expect Thai restaurant or Indian restaurant.


 RECENT POSTS: 
bottom of page