top of page

Differences of etiquette

What I found something new about cultural difference is that speaking loudly is impolite for Finnish.

Today me and my friend were waiting in a line in Lidl, and it was a little bit noisy. There was an old Finnish lady who told us to speak in a low voice by zipping mouth with her hand. After that I found that Finnish think it is impolite to speak loudly in public. I finally understood why some of people looking at me when talking.

In China, there are many people at everywhere which led to a crowded and noisy environment, therefore, usually people speak kind of loudly in order to let others hear clearly. I have to say that it is really noisy in many restaurant in China. However, in Finland, people prefer stay in silence and choose to keep in a low voice if they want to talk.


 RECENT POSTS: 
bottom of page